This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about our use of cookies click here.
gümbet escort Kuşadasi Escort

Home > Oram Award winners announced!

Oram Award winners announced!

Today we announced the winners of the Oram Awards at Turner Contemporary in Margate.

Huge congratulations to:

Ewa Justka
Claire M Singer
Elvin Brandhi
Kathy Hinde
Mary Stark
Sally Golding
Shelly Knotts

The Special commendations went to Klein and Ewa who receive PRS Foundation talent development bursaries of £1,000 each.  The other winners each receive a talent development bursaries of £500 from PRS Foundation.

Named after Daphne Oram, one of the founding members of the original BBC Radiophonic Workshop, the awards hope to build on her legacy. Daphne worked at the workshop with others including Delia Derbyshire, Glynis Jones, Jenyth Worsley, Maddalena Fagandini and Elizabeth Parker, creating music for the distant future, the distant past and inside the mind. She played a vital role in establishing women at the forefront of innovation, in newly emerging audio technologies, in the UK and around the world. Fast forward to 2017 and whilst there are many women innovating in music and sound, their work and their voices often struggle to be heard and we’re missing the opportunity to celebrate role models for the next generation.

Listen via the iPlayer to PRS Foundation’s CEO Vanessa Reed and the BBC New Radiophonic Workshop’s Matthew Herbert talking on Radio 3’s Music Matters about the Oram awards and women in the music in the industry here. (11mins 40 seconds in).